What if’s…..

Two days ago I saw someone from a camp I went to last summer. It was completely out of the blue and caught me off guard. I never expected to see anyone from there again. But it got me thinking about the people that I met while I was there. And I kept thinking, “what if?”

The reason I never expected to see this guy is because we live in an area with about 100,000 people and we are totally different, which I found out during our initial time together. We hung out with different types of people and had mostly different interest. The one thing we had in common was an acquaintance. To him this was a friend, and to me this was a guy that I had fallen for. I’m sure every teenage girl out there knows what I mean. The guy that you see from afar one day and you know you just have to get to know him, but you don’t want to be the one to go up and initiate the conversation. That was me.

That guy is my “what if” person. I knew that if we ever developed something it would never work. There were two reasons for this. 1) He had already began developing a relationship with another girl. 2) He lives in London. I mean, can you get any further for a long distance relationship? But this doesn’t stop me from wondering what life may have been like in those three weeks that we knew each other.

I can speculate all I want, but the truth is, I don’t know.

Leave a comment